saving the dough :: HT super doubles

Many of you know that I’m a couponing fanatic. (Surprise!! to those of you who didn’t.) But a few years ago, I swore you’d never find me spending my precious time cutting and organizing coupons, much less carrying around a huge tabbed binder full of them just to stockpile tons of random food that I would never buy otherwise. That would be super embarrassing, and frankly kind of insane. When Ben and I moved back from Kansas and had no consistent source of income, couponing became my job out of necessity, and I gotta admit, I’m now on the verge of addiction. I never thought in a million years that I would enjoy it even a teeniny little bit, but here I am. Truly, I would rather stop doing it than ever let it become an idol, but it really is fun and satisfying to get so much while spending so little. I hope sharing my steals with you will be an encouragement and show you how to do the same.

Harris Teeter is one of my favorite places to shop. Before couponing, I thought it was an awesome store, but way too expensive to shop regularly. Now, I save the most money there. Pretty sweet, huh? HT always doubles coupons with a face value of $0.99 or below. But about every six weeks they have a special event called Super Doubles where they will double the value of any coupon with a face value between $1 and $1.99. That means that if you have a coupon for $1 off an item, it will double to become $2 off, or a $1.50 coupon will double to be $3 off… you get the gist. So, I’ve been three times this past week and it’s been absolutely stellar! Oh, and if there was ever a time to prove those of you wrong (like me a few years ago) who think you can’t get healthy, non-junky food – food that you’d buy anyway without coupons – this is it.

Trip #1:

Trip #2:

Trip #3:

And the GRAND TOTAL is… (drum roll please):

TOTAL SPENT: $83.94
TOTAL SAVED: $252.93 (or an average of 76%)

All said and done I spent $84 on about $337 worth of groceries!!! You have no idea how cool it is for me to just see all of this stuff counted out in one place. AND, this is one of the most well-rounded stockpiles I’ve worked on… LOTS of veggies and fruit, chicken, beef, milk, cheese, spices, juice, oatmeal, etc.

BTW, the Kahiki brand stuff was awesome when I was prego. I was craving eggrolls, but trying to cut back on the MSG. For frozen chinese, all-natural with no MSG, these absolutely hit the spot when I was like “I want an eggroll so bad right now!!” Really like Kahiki, but the portions for everything other than the eggrolls are a little on the small side, so I only buy them if I can get a box for $1 or less.

So there ya have it folks. If you’re interested in learning about how to do this, don’t hesitate to ask me questions. If you’re a DIY-er and feel like you could figure it out with a little guidance, I taught myself how to do it initially from this incredible site: southernsavers.com. Dig it.

Night night everyone. Grace and peace to you.

2 responses to “saving the dough :: HT super doubles

  1. I’m so jealous. We spend so much money on food here…no such thing as coupons over here, and when I do find a sale, the last thing I want to do is stock up and carry it all home!

Leave a Reply

