Pumpkin Morning Glory Muffins

Pumpkin is in the air – well, I guess autumn is really – but I am food-focused these days with little baby-2 making me a little hungrier than usual. Pumpkin spice lattes. Pumpkin bread. Pumpkin butter. Yum! And, I found a 16 oz can of pumpkin puree at Aldi for only $.99 the other day! Happy girl here. So I thought I’d give these scrumptious little morsels a shot. (Plus, I thought this recipe would be warmly welcomed by those of you, who like me, are looking for a fun treat to satiate your pumpkiny-spicy-autumn flavor craving this weekend.)

Soooooo glad I did!

They are so moist, perfectly autumny, and just addicting in general. And healthy too! I could not eat just one, or two… I’m not really sure how many I ate within the few hours after they came out of the oven. Rhys ate four or five mini muffins throughout the morning – probably would’ve eaten like 10 if it were up to him – so I count that a major success! We’ll definitely be making these again.

You can add-in or substitute pretty much anything you want as far as the mix-ins (raisins, coconut, apple, etc…) go to customize this recipe to your personal muffin-desires. Add chopped walnuts, pecans, almonds or pumpkin seeds. Try other types of dried fruit like cranberries or blueberries. You could probably add in some crushed pineapple in place of the apple too. I think next time I might also add some ground nutmeg and cloves to spice it up a little bit.

Pumpkin Morning Glory Muffins

:: ingredients ::
2 cups all-purpose flour -or- white whole wheat flour
1/2 cup white sugar
3/4 brown sugar
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 cups shredded carrots
3/4 cup raisins
1/2 cup shredded coconut (sweetened or not – whatev)
1 apple – peeled, cored and shredded
3 eggs
1/4 cup vegetable oil
3/4 cup pumpkin puree
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

:: instructions ::
1. Preheat oven to 350˚F. Grease 12-18 regular or 24 mini muffin cups, or line with paper muffin liners. I made 12 regular muffins & 21 mini muffins this morning from one batch.
2. Mix flour, sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt together in a large bowl or in your standing mixer. Stir in the carrot, raisins, coconut, and apple. When prepping the carrots and apples – you can shred them by hand – or grind them up in a food processor. I used the food processor to save time, and make finer pieces.
3. In a separate medium-sized bowl, beat together the eggs, oil, pumpkin puree, and vanilla. You can also substitute all of the oil with pumpkin, or all of the pumpkin/oil with applesauce. Stir the egg-pumpkin mixture into the carrot-flour mixture, just until moistened. Not too long. Don’t want to overdo it. Make sure to scrape down the sides of  your bowl, especially with an upright mixer. Scoop batter into prepared muffin cups.
4. Bake in your preheated oven for 20-25 minutes, until a toothpick (or fondue fork – that’s what I use) inserted into center of a muffin comes out not-gooey.
5. Enjoy!! Great with a piping hot mug of your favorite coffee or tea. 🙂 Probably also awesome with pumpkin butter – mmmm, may be making some of that soon too…

{recipe adapted from AllRecipes.com}

Oh, and this is my little peanut-butter head running around the kitchen while I was baking…

He decided to dress himself with, um, 5 tshirts? He was just-a-prancing and giggling around the room – probably because Ben and I both were laughing hysterically. Love my sweet goob!

4 responses to “Pumpkin Morning Glory Muffins

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Morning Glory Muffins « Priceless Gifts·

Leave a Reply

