baby sophia : week 27!!

Aaaaaaand…. we’re back. Wow. It’s been a long time since 20 weeks, when we found out Sophia is Sophia. I feel like the past several weeks have been a whirlwind. I can’t remember most of it. The highlights, yes. But the in between, not so much.

Anywho – Baby Sophia girl is 27 weeks old (the end of my 2nd trimester! woah), and comparable in size to a head of cauliflower.


BABY SOPHIA…
… “Cauliflower” weighs about 2 LBS and is about 14 inches long now!
…is only getting more “movey”. She has just in the past few days started playing with me. She’ll stick her little foot/hand/elbow out, and when I press on it she presses back. We play this little game for as long as I will keep it up. She rarely pulls away. It’s so precious.
…has a very active brain, which will continue growing more complex in its activity level.
…has rapidly developing lungs at this point. She is practicing inhaling and exhaling, and I think I’ve felt an episode or two of hiccups, which may only increase in frequency from here on out. It feels like a rhythmic gentle thumping for a minute or two.
…is sleeping and waking at regular intervals.
…is practicing opening and closing her itty bitty eyelids, although she can’t see very well yet.
(info from thebump.com and babycenter.com – click the link for more)

MOMMY:
– Oh dear, I am so emotional! Not constantly, it unexpectedly fluctuates in severity at always inconvenient times. I guess it’s just not convenient period. From talking to other girlfriends who have been pregnant with girls, the increase in estrogen from carrying another female in my already female self takes emotions to a whole new level. Praying a lot that in spite of what I can’t control, that the Lord would give me the ability to be aware of my emotional spikes and control what I can in the way of limiting particular types of personal interaction during more sensitive times, or holding my tongue when I’m tempted to act awkwardly sad or inflammatory or grumpy or just sinfully unnecessary. Not all of my emotional-ness is bad, like when I cry easily over something sweet or happy or sad to anyone around me. It’s actually kind of nice to be able to let those emotions flow a little more freely. The others… not so much. Any prayer over this, especially on behalf of those spending regular time with me (Ben and Rhys specifically), would be soooo appreciated! (BTW – started potty training Rhys this week, so my patience is being tried and strengthened through this challenging time. Pray for that too! The potty training. And my patience.)

– I feel humongous these days. Relatively, I’m not actually humongous. I just feel like I am. My hips and pelvic area are frequently achey, with some occasionally intense nerve pain as well. I feel like this season of good rest I’ve been getting will soon come to a close. I’m hoping this isn’t the case, but I’m preparing for it nonetheless.

– Frequent trips to the toilet (between potty training and me, we are practically living in the bathroom), a couple leg cramps and some minor back pain here and there… otherwise things are going really really well. Nothing major to complain about. And why should I complain at all?! The Lord is blessing us every day with this little life, and these minor irritations are nothing, NOTHING compared to that. I am so thankful for them, as they are a sign of this precious little life growing inside of me.

Leave a Reply

